Results: 2019 Colorado Springs Municipal Election

Apr 2, 2019

(UPDATED 2:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 3, 2019) The final, unofficial count is in and Colorado Springs voters have elected some familiar faces to city government.

John Suthers handily won re-election for a second term as mayor, with nearly 70,000 votes cast in his favor. His closest challenger, Juliette Parker, received more than 11,000 votes. 

In an interview prior to the election, Suthers said he thought his first four years went well in addressing his priorities: building cohesion between the mayor's office and city council as well as other governmental entities like El Paso County, addressing infrastructure needs and creating job growth.

"On all the major issues," Suthers said, "we have been able to put together coalitions and move ahead." In seeking a second term, Suthers said before the election that he's prepared to continue forward progress.

Voters also selected three at-large city councilors. Incumbents Tom Strand and Bill Murray will retain their seats, while former Secretary of State and El Paso County Commissioner Wayne Williams was the top vote recipient, with 47,581 as of Wednesday.

Voters also overwhelmingly said no to ballot issue 1, which would have created a collective bargaining agreement between the city and uniformed city firefighters.

According to numbers from the city clerk's office, more than 98,000 ballots were cast, which amounts to a 37 percent turnout. That's slightly higher than the municipal election in 2017, which saw a nearly 34 percent turnout.

The results are unofficial. Once certified, oaths of office are expected in mid-April.


Last city update: 12:24 p.m., April 3, 2019 [Wednesday]


Lawrence Joseph Martinez: 5000
John Suthers (I): 69,703
John Pitchford: 9985
Juliette Parker: 11,438

City Council At-Large (three seats):

Gordon Klingenschmitt: 28,352
Bill Murray (I): 31,578
Val Snider: 14,771
Wayne Williams: 47,581
Tony Gioia: 20,586
Terry Martinez: 27,410
Regina English: 19,816
Tom Strand (I): 31,082
Randy Tuck: 6913
Athena Roe: 17,727
Dennis Spiker: 9863

Ballot Issue 1: Collective bargaining agreement for uniformed city fire employees

Yes: 31,547
No: 65,295